2018 Conference

Conference participants
Conference presentation
Conference participants

Leading From Your Best Self

"Leading From Your Best Self" was the central theme of the 2018 Women in Surgery Leadership Development Conference. The conference featured a He For She track led by led by Michael Mulholland, MD, PhD and Justin Dimick, MD, MPH, which focused on “Diversity as a Leadership Competency, its importance to the individual and organization." Additionally, a Resident Leadership track, led by Karin Hardiman, MD, PhD and Lynn Frydrych, MD, discussed “Breaking the Mold, or how to make your uniqueness be an asset for you". The conference was sponsored by University of Michigan Department of Surgery with generous contributions from the Institute for Research on Women and Gender & the Institute for Healthcare Policy and Innovation.


Friday, November 30, 2018

  • Breakfast & Registration

  • HeForShe Track

  • Resident Leadership Track

  • Keynote Speaker

  • Session 1 - The Art of Negotiation

  • Breakout 1 - Contract and Promotion Negotiations

  • Cocktail Reception

Saturday, December 1, 2018

  • Setting the Stage - Neuroscience of Leadership

  • Session 2 - Building Your Best Self Part 1

  • Breakout 2 - CV and Cover Letter Workshop

  • Session 3 - Building Your Best Self Part 2

  • Breakout 3 - Public Speaking Workshop

  • Session 4 - Making Lemonade

  • Breakout 4 - Learning and Application Discussion

Keynote Speaker

Reshma Jagsi, MD, DPhil

Reshma Jagsi, MD, DPhil

Reshma Jagsi, MD, DPhil is a Professor in the Michigan Medicine Department of Radiation Oncology. She is also the Deputy Chair and Residency Program Director of the same department, in addition to Director of the Center for Bioethics and Social Sciences in Medicine at the University of Michigan.

Featured Speakers

  • Barbara Bass, MD: Houston Methodist

  • Janet Pinkerton Dombrowski, BSN, MHSA: JCD Advisors, LLC

  • Julie Freischlag, MD: Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center

  • Mary Hawn, MD, MPH: Stanford Medicine

  • Andrea Hayes-Jordan, MD: University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill

  • Melina Kibbe, MD: University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill

  • Sandra Wong, MD, MS: Dartmouth-Hitchcock

Michigan Medicine Conference Speakers & Guest Moderators

  • John Ayanian, MD, MPP

  • Meredith Barrett, MD

  • Carol Bradford, MD, MS

  • David J. Brown, MD

  • Clifford Cho, MD

  • Justin Dimick, MD, MPH

  • Lesly Dossett, MD, MPH

  • Dee Fenner, MD

  • Lynn Frydrych, MD

  • Christa Grant, MD

  • Calista Harbaugh, MD

  • Karin Hardiman, MD, PhD

  • Ronald Hirschl, MD

  • Jack Iwashyna, MD, PhD

  • Karen Kim, MD

  • Anna Kirkland, PhD, JD

  • Kate Kraft, MD

  • Lily Maguire, MD

  • Kelly Malloy, MD

  • Barb Miller, MD

  • Michelle Moniz, MD, MSc

  • Michael Mulholland, MD, PhD

  • Erika Newman, MD

  • Andrea Obi, MD

  • Pauline Park, MD

  • Gurjit Sandhu, PhD

  • Chris Sonnenday, MD, MHS

  • Dana Telem, MD, MPH

  • Joceline Vu, MD

  • Tom Wakefield, MD

  • Jennifer Waljee, MD, MPH, MS

  • Matthew Wixson, MD

  • Sarah Wixson, JD